General News

This year’s SOYA Awards to consist six categories – KBC | Kenya’s Watching



Download Video

Dorcas Ndasaba receives Hall of fame award during 2019 SOYA Awards.This year award will consist of 6 categories.


This year’s Sports Personality of the year awards, SOYA, will consist of six award categories only unlike in previous editions which involved 18categories.

KBC Radio_KICD Timetable

This year’s fete which is expected to be attended by 250 athletes will be held on February 20th at Lake Naivasha Resort, Nakuru County.

The six categories that will be contested include: outstanding sportsman and woman, resilience category, Hall of fame, Community Hero and Innovation category.

Awards coordinator John Kaplich revealed to KBC Digital Sports that due to prevailing conditions brought about by the global outbreak of covid19 pandemic this year’s event will seek to celebrate sportsmen and women as well as organize a symposium for the athletes.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

‘’This year’s award will involve a symposium for athletes whereby the athletes will be taken through topics such as sports and gender, Doping, sports fame and failure, sports and media branding’’,Kaplich said.

Kaplich revealed the ceremony is expected to cost Ksh.8 million.

World men’s marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge and world 5,000m champion Hellen Obiri were awarded  the sports personality of the year awards held in January  2020 in Mombasa.

The awards founded in 2003 by former athlete and current national Olympic committee of Kenya chairman Paul Tergat fetes outstanding sportsmen and women in a calendar year.


Tell Us What You Think

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); = id;
js.src = “”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));

Source by [author_name]

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *