African Rally Competition: 35 drivers compete in Equatorial Rally – KBC


A total of 35 drivers will take part in the African Rally this weekend in Kenya’s 2021 FIA Africa Rally.

Download Mp3 or Play

Kenya’s charge will be led by Baldev Singh Chager, rising star Karan Patel and five-time winner of ARC Safari Rally Carl “Flash” Tundo.

The Equatorial Conference will pass through Lake Naivasha and Soysambu Park.

Competition is expected between Rai Onkar and Tejveer brothers and sisters who are also expected to throw feathers in similar Volkswagen Polos which are among the seven R5 vehicles registered.

Getting broken information on your Phone as it happens. Send SMS ‘NEWS’ to 20153

Also listed at the event are Ugandan runners led by Ronald Ssebuguzi, Kepha Walubi, Yasin Nasser and Duncan Mubiru. All Rwandan crew Giancarlo Davite and co-driver Sylvia Vindevogel will return to normal in Mitsubishi Evolution 10.

British Pratul Ghose and British-based Kenyan Imran Khan will drive a Volkswagen Polo R5 in their beautiful Minti Motorsport livery.

There is a good fight in anticipation between drivers using conventional machinery and Kailash Chauhan from the Coast and former KNRC Car Champion Jonathan Somen (Ford Escort MK2) to take on champion Ian Duncan in the Minti Motorsport Nissan 240RS.

Course clerk Gurvir Bhabra confirmed that the revived Equatorial event will take six steps from the WRC Safari route. The six are Elementaita, Soysambu, Sleeping Warrior, Loldia, Malewa and Kedong.

“If the equator is a two-day event, we really don’t have much mileage to complete the Safari Rally route. We will make a qualifying move on Friday which should give us the start of the first day on Saturday,” Gurvir said.

The next FIA ARC post-Equator event will be Rally of Tanzania on the weekend of July 24-25 followed by Lulu of Africa Uganda Rally on August 21-22, Zambia International Motor Rally on September 25-26 and South African Rally on November 6-7 .

The Equatorial Rally will be closed to all spectators.



1 Eric Bengi -Peter Mutuma -KEN Mitsubishi Reform 10

2 Tejveer Rai -Gareth Dawe KEN-Volkswagen Polo-R5

3 Ian Duncan -Tej Sehmi KEN -Nissan 240RS -Classic

4 Carl Tundo -Tim Jessop KEN -Mitsubishi Reform 10

5 Onkar Rai -Drew Sturrock P KEN UK Volkswagen Polo -R5

6 Baldev Chager -Ravi Soni KEN – Mitsubishi Reform 10 RC2-R4

Karan Patel -Tauseef Khan KEN-Ford Fiesta -R5

8 Jasmeet Chana -Ravi Chana – Mitsubishi Reform 10

9 Issa Amwari-Job Njiru KEN Mitsubishi Reform 10

10 Amaanra Rai -Oslaj Viljem -UG -SLOV- Ford Fiesta R5

11 Giancarlo Davite -Sylvia Vindevogel RWA- Mitsubishi Reform 10

12 Pratul Ghose -Imran Khan UK- KEN-Volkswagen Polo

13 Rajiv Ruparelia -Enoch Olinga F UG -Volkswagen Polo / Proto

14 Yasin Nasser -Ali Katumba F UG UG -Subaru Impreza

15 Duncan Mubiru – Musa Nsubuga UG Subaru Impreza

16 Kepher Walubi – Muhammad Asuman UG Mitsubishi Reform 10

17 John Ng’ang’a -Edward Ndukui 1 KEN -Subaru Impreza

18 Nikhil Sachania -Depep Patel – KEN – Mitsubishi Reform 10

19.Aakif Virani -Azhar Bhatti -KEN -Skoda Fabia R5

20 Piero Canobbio -TBA -KEN – Mitsubishi Reform 10

21 Hassan Alwi -James Mwangi -UG -KEN -Subaru Impreza

22 Mcrae Kimathi -Shameer Yusuf 1 KEN – Subaru Impreza

23 Steve Mwangi -Dennis Mwenda -KEN- Subaru Impreza

Guy Guy Botterill -Simon Vacy-Lyle -RSA- Toyota Etios RC2-R5

25 Christakis Fitidis -Eric Nzamwita – UG RWA- Mitsubishi Reform 10

26 Hussein Malik -Linet Ayuko- Mitsubishi Reform 10

27 Evans Kavisi -Absolom Aswani 2 KEN – Mitsubishi Reform 10

28 Ronald Sebuguzi -Anthony Mugambwa UG – Mitsubishi Reform 10

29 Jonathan Somen -Richard Hechle -KEN -Ford Escort MK2 Classic

30 Kailesh Chauhan -Tariq Malik 2 KEN – Ford Escort RS -Classic

31 Edward Maina -John Ngugi 1 KEN – Subaru Impreza

32 Nokaoka Waita -Tuta Mionki -KEN -Mitsubishi Reform 10

33 Daren Miranda -Wayne Fernandes -KEN- Subaru Impreza RC2

34 Geoff Mayes -Shuanne brother-in-law -KEN – Landrover Tomcat

35 Hamza Anwar -Riyaz Ismail 2 KEN -Subaru Impreza

The weekend conference will assess Kenya’s preparations ahead of the WRC Safari Rally scheduled for June 24-27

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); = id;
js.src = “”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));

About Anna Jebet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *